Chongqing Goalkeeper Concedes Goal While Drinking Water

A goalkeeper makes dozens of decisions over the course of every match, from how to position himself to whether to attack or sit back on incoming crosses, and the slightest miscalculation can sometimes be the difference between a win and something lesser. Never will this point be more obviously illustrated than during Sunday’s Chinese Super League match between Chongqing Lifan and Liaoning Hongyun, when Chongqing goalkeeper Sui Weijie’s crucial decision to take a sip of water cost his team a victory.

In the 84th minute, Chongqing was up 1-0 when it committed a foul just outside its box. While Chongqing’s defenders are pleading their case around the referee, Liaoning’s Ding Haifeng quick starts the free kick, taking everybody by surprise — most of all Chongqing’s goalkeeper, who was sipping from his water bottle when the ball rolled into his unmanned goal.

This is the face of a man who knows he done screwed up and will sleep a lonely sleep:

Chongqing goalkeeper after conceding goal

The funniest part, by far, is the reaction of the Chongqing manager, who can’t even be all that mad at his keeper since it looks like he was caught just as unawares… and equally thirsty:

(Via Fail Goal via Who Ate All the Pies)

    One Response to “Chongqing Goalkeeper Concedes Goal While Drinking Water”

    1. Steven Schwankert

      And crack coverage by local TV, which also missed the goal for broadcast but at least managed to keep a lens on it anyway.


    Leave a Reply

    • (will not be published)

    XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

    − two = 4